June 21, 2014: My not particularly summery summer solstice report!

Alright, let’s try the phone update again! Today was a long Saturday (it started at 6:45am)! It was good, though, I’m not complaining. I had rehearsal at 10:00am.

Rehearsal went well, but…it’s always encouraging to walk in and hear: can you sightread the second flute part of Dvorak Symphony #9 and La Mer? At least for La Mer I’ve been working on the piccolo part, so it wasn’t such a stretch, but I’ve never seen Dvorak Symphony #9 before, so that definitely had it’s interesting moments…we’ll just leave it at that! Overall rehearsal was good though, and I didn’t spend as much time as I usually would staring into space. (Another benefit of today was getting to try Dunkin’ Donuts coffee for free! Yummy stuff!)

After rehearsal I went and grabbed some lunch and then made a B-line for my train. I was determined to take the earliest train I could because during lunch a severe thunderstorm warning popped up on my phone and I figured if I waited there would be no bike ride for me! 😦

But I made it home and out on a 12 mile bike ride by the skin of my teeth. I think I had 5 minutes in the house before the 1812 Overture started up in the sky. In addition to that we wound up with water in our basement, so that was quite a party…NOT!

It’s been a good day though! 🙂 I finished the running book I was reading, and thoroughly enjoyed. Now I have it as a reference and it has tons of great exercises in it, so it sounds like fun to me!

Tomorrow my plan is to do HIIT, I think. I at least want to give it a shot! Mom is skeptical about it since there’s so much jumping involved. Somehow, though, I figure there’s something wimping out in my body and HIIT is the best way to strengthen whatever that might be. I’ll give it a shot. If it works, great! If not, well, I’ll be home and I can switch to some other form of exercise (that’s not running)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

