June 15, 2014: Miscellaneous Life News

And I keep spacing out!  Every time I intend to write here it either gets too late, or I forget, or I’m reading, or my brain is preoccupied with some other thought and I don’t think writing here is a particularly good idea.  Finally, tonight, that’s not the case.  I’ll give you a quick crash through what’s been going on in my life!  To start with, for the first time in a while it will be mostly musically related.

So, I think the last time I wrote was in May, since then I’ve been to a baseball game with a wonderful friend (and I made some new ones along the way), run a race that set a personal record (3.1 miles, all splits were about 8:20 min!), auditioned for an area orchestra for the summer, and started to get ready to go to chamber camp in a few weeks!

The baseball game, well, the best part of that was definitely the fact that my beloved hockey team won that night and the entire city was hopeful that they would take the series.  It didn’t happen, sadly, but we came so close.  Next year at the Finals?  We’ll see! 😉  (And, seriously, it was maybe the best part because we were almost all more concerned with the score of the hockey game than the score on the baseball field…oops!)

The next day I had my orchestra audition, which, apparently, went really well, seeing as I got in.  There’s a certain level of pride in that, for me, because it’s the first audition I’ve prepped for, taken, and won without the aid of a teacher.  That being said, it does not mean I’m above taking lessons, but it does mean that I can be self-sufficient on my preparation when necessary. 🙂  Orchestra rehearsals start this week and I’m really excited.  I will definitely keep you posted on how they go!  If you want concert information comment for the time and place! 🙂  I’d love to see a great audience turn out! 😀

Concert Rep for the two concerts we’re playing include:

Concert 1:

La Mer-Debussy

Symphony #9-Dvorak

Egmont Overture-Beethoven

Concert 2:

Danse Macabre-Saint-Saens

Poet and Peasant Overture-Suppe

Sorcerer’s Apprentice-Dukas

The race I ran was the day after my audition.  I woke up at 5:00am for a 5K, got ready to go, and pretended I wasn’t at all concerned, seeing as I was supposed to be running the half-marathon, but because I got injured after I got my Zumba certification 13.1 miles was out!  I was so happy with how I ran, most especially because I set a PR (personal record).  I haven’t resolved all my running issues, I’m still not sure what the deal is with my feet and legs, as there is definitely something goofy, but I’m getting there.  I seem to be back to heel striking, at least temporarily, but I might be able to go back to forefoot strikes sometime, I’m just unsure about shin-splints with that.  😛

Oh yeah, and chamber camp!  I’m not sure what I’m playing or what camp will be like, but I’ll keep you posted and I’ll make sure to let you know what rep I’m tackling!

Keep smiling friends!  With any luck I will update tomorrow! 😀

Leave a Reply

