December 22, 2013: My flute teacher for the last year (approximately)

I was applying to the school where this flute teacher teaches (so many teachers, I know!).  I e-mailed the flute professor there and she suggested that I ask this teacher if she had room in her schedule to teach me.  Thankfully, she did.  I spent a year studying with her and I learned so much from her.  She taught me all sorts of things about flute and about schools and she really is a huge part of the reason I got into grad school.  She made me believe I could do anything!!!

I could come into my lessons feeling unprepared and shaky on my pieces.  Whenever I played for her I could rely that she could guide me so that tricky passages felt easier, that the melodic passages sounded sweeter, and that my scales always came out better! 🙂  I also feel, if it’s allowed to say, that I not only gained a wonderful teacher, but a wonderful friend.  It’s not the sort of friendship where you call up the other person just to chat, it’s the special sort of friendship that develops between a teacher and student.  It’s the one where you’re so happy to see each other at breaks, where you can’t wait to hear what the teacher has to teach and the teacher can’t wait to hear what the student has learned.  It’s a special relationship, one that’s personal, professional, and musical all at the same time. I’m so thankful to have this relationship, so thankful to have this teacher, and so thankful to have met a learned so much from this wonderful teacher! 🙂

Leave a Reply

