December 20, 2013: Grad School

So, I’m sorry for not posting the last several days, but the start of break, coinciding with a lovely cold has made my brain non-functional.  So, the way I figure this I’m four posts behind, so for the next couple days I’ll post two updates a day to make up for that lapse.  So, my first make-up update is about grad school.  Most of you have probably figured out that I love school this year.  I’m so grateful for this place for so many reasons.  The first reason, I suppose, being that I wasn’t particularly happy my first two years of college, so coming to grad school and immediately fitting in was an amazing feeling! 

Besides having wonderful friends at school I also have marvelous teachers and I’ve learned so much in 16 weeks.  Will I retain everything I’ve learned?  It’s doubtful because nobody does, but I’ll remember a lot of it, and not just the conversations we had in the hallways before orchestra while eating lunch! 😉  No, I’ve learned a lot about Baroque music, I’ve learned a lot about Bach, specifically, I’ve learned a lot about flute, I’ve learned a lot about people, I’ve learned a lot about myself and what I can and can’t do.  Mostly, I’ve (for once) found and realized, there’s very little I can’t do.  How can I not be thankful for a place that showed me I can do whatever I put my mind to?

Grad school has shown me I can work hard, play hard, run, practice, perform, try, succeed, and do all sorts of wonderful things I never believed I could do.  I guess, one of the big reasons I’m thankful for grad school is that, it not only showed me what I was capable of, but it also showed me I could be me and it’s okay to be me.  I don’t have to try to impress anyone.  I don’t think I ever tried to impress anyone per-say in undergrad, but I never truly felt comfortable being me there.  In grad school, I am, and the people around me made me feel like I could be me from the first time I met them.  I’m so thankful and happy to be where I am and to be there with the people who have become very dear friends in a very short time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

