December 16, 2013: Principal Flute

Well…I said I wasn’t going to use names, so this gets challenging.  I’ve been through many principal flutes in my flute career, some good, some not-so-good, some who I’ve been friendly with, some where there’s no choice, we’re just flat-out enemies.  This year is fantastic.  Never have I been such good friends with the principal flute of a section. I’m so lucky to have this girl as my principal, but more importantly as my friend.   She’s very talented, but she’s also kind and funny.  I enjoy spending time with her.  I’m proud to call her my friend!

I love talking to her, whether it’s about flute things, music things, Lord of the Rings things, old TV show things, or anything else we can thing of.  She is one of the two friends with whom I had a sleepover Thursday night and I can honestly say that I don’t remember the last time I had so much fun! 😀  It was her idea to have a sleep over that night, so I guess I owe her thanks for that.  😉  I spent enough years in a section years in a section that didn’t get along to know how much of a difference a section leader can make. 

I also know how much of a difference a friend can make and I know when to be thankful and when to celebrate friends.  New or old, all friends are important.  My friend, you maybe a new friend, but you are a dear one!  Thank you for putting up with me.  Thank you for making me smile.  Thank you for being all around wonderful, and most importantly: have a wonderful (what’s left of) your birthday!  It’s been a crazy semester  for all of us, but it’s your birthday that falls at the end of the semester, so take today.  Enjoy today.  Celebrate and know that I wish you the happiest and most wonderful of birthdays!!!!!  ❤

Leave a Reply

