December 14, 2013: Very Old Friends

Okay, you are not very old, but you are one of my oldest, and dearest friends!  You drive me absolutely insane sometimes, and you know it, but I love you none-the-less!  I still remember when we met, back in middle school.  We were pretty different people back then and back then it was always a game of poking you with our viola bows.  Now, the game is to get you to respond to your text messages. 😉  We’ve had some great times and I think we’ll have some more.  I can honestly say, after 13 (moving on 14) years, I’m glad I can call you my friend!

You have been a big impact on my life.  You’ve reminded me, always, of my love of baseball.  You’ve encouraged and helped develop my love of hockey, even if I do support an entirely different team than you do.  You’ve introduced me to a pretty awesome band, for free!  For all our goofy adventures, my favorite memory is a tie.  I love when we got lost on the way home from prom in high school and I also love the night we went to see the Gin Blossoms.  Those were both pretty funny experiences and two events I see as highlights and important points in our friendship. 

It’s been a long time since we’ve talked, beyond the short, brief texts.  That doesn’t mean I don’t wonder how you’re doing, how life is going, and all that jazz!  I know you’re doing well and, despite the fact that it’s been a while since we’ve chatted, I know when we do get to talk again, it’ll be like we never stopped.  I’m so thankful that I’ve gotten to know you over these last 13 years.  You’ve been a huge influence in my life and a wonderful friend!  I look forward to many more years of friendship and of course, most important of all: happy birthday!

Leave a Reply

