December 11, 2013: My Flute <3

It’s cold out…which has nothing to do with my post, but it’s really cold, regardless.  I’m really lucky in that I have the best flute (for me) in the world.  I love my combination because, yes, I have a franken-flute, and it allows me to do all sorts of wonderful things!  It’s a bit like a painter and their favorite brush and set of paints, or a writer and their favorite pen, but this, while similar, is so very different!  While a pen or brush may wear out, not so with an instrument.  My flute will be with me as long as I want it!  We have a special relationship, my baby (my flute) and I.

Getting a new instrument seems like it’s the best thing ever and in someways it is a wonderful feeling!  But it’s sort of like making new friends.  They’re new and you like them a lot and you want to hang out with them all the time.  But there’s something special, unique, comfortable, and beautiful about old friendships, something that you can always rely on.  I think about my “old” friends (not that any of you are actually old, but our friendships are aged 😉 ).  We know each other really well, it’s always comfortable when we hang out.  Sometimes we know what the other will say before he/she say it, sometimes we don’t.  Having a flute (or any instrument, I would imagine) you’ve gotten to know in a similar way is just as comfortable and wonderful.  Sometimes I know what my instrument will do before it does it, sometimes, I swear, it knows what I’m going to do before I do. lol.  It’s the best feeling though, when both my instrument and I are “on” because we’re a team that’s gotten to know each other and we can rely on each other.  And yes, it’s weird that I’m talking about an inanimate object like a human, but, it’s who I am and what I do.  My flute and I, we’re buddies and we like to do things together and the best way we (I?  Hey, metal has memory) know how! 😀  We’re certainly inseparable, as anyone who knows me will tell you, and we do well because of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

