December 4, 2013: Books

I will try and make this post more substantial than last nights when I was so exhausted and no, I don’t know why!  The next thing I want to write about being thankful for are books.  Walking to school today I was listening to the musical Beauty and the Beast.  I got to “Something There” and there’s a line that’s just perfect.

Beast: I never knew books could do that!

Belle: Do what?

Beast: Make me forget who I…what I am.

They can.  I remember some of the most blah times of my life (so I haven’t had the time to have too many blah moments, but there have been some) and the saving grace was a book.  It depended on the year, on my mood, on the time I had whether that book might be Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Percy Jackson or Heroes of Olympus, Chronicles of Prydain, Pride and Prejudice or another Jane Austen novel (or fan-fiction), a history book, or something else, yet again, whatever book it is, it can take me away from anything bad in my life.

Sometimes even school books can work for that (especially the quarter in undergrad when I took Classical Mythology).  When you get involved in a book of any sort you lose track of reality and sometimes that can be the best thing to solve a problem, getting some space from it.  I love books because of more than that, though.  Whenever I open a book that I’ve read before, a book in a series, it’s like I’m seeing an old friend.  I love reading about Percy and Annabeth, Lizzie and Darcy and Georgiana, Susan and Lucian, Taran and Eilonwy, Frodo and Sam, Harry and Hermione, they’re all dear friends I haven’t seen in a while when I pick up the books, but once I start reading it’s like we’ve never been apart.

Maybe it sounds strange to refer to books as my “friends” but I know I’m not the only one who feels this way.  Sometimes, when you’re alone and there isn’t anyone around books become your refuge and comfort.  I’m thankful for books because they are my constant friends and something I can discuss with human friends, something that has a special place in my heart and my mind, and, hey, so long as authors don’t take my “friends” away from me (*cough* JK Rowling, *cough* JRR Tolkien, *cough* Lloyd Alexander, etc.) I still love books and everything they can do! 😉

Leave a Reply

