December 2, 2013: Computer

Well, this seems like a strange thing to be thankful for, but I definitely am!  Life is crazy (it’s not so bad now that my paper and such are done, but still).  Without my computer things would be so much worse.  First of all, I would actually have to type (not word process) any papers for class.  Strike anyone as time consuming…strikes me so!  Aside from school work, without my computer there would be so many things I wouldn’t be able to do.  These things are, of course, luxuries, but they’re special.  Among the top at the moment are getting ear worms out of my head. (I’ll admit it isn’t working very well, but regardless…).  The other, the more important thing about my computer that I am thankful for is, oddly, one of the most irking things on the internet: e-mail/other electronic communication.

Let’s face it, these things can drive you crazy!  People are constantly in touch with you, Groupon and Living Social are constantly e-mailing you, and yet…I don’t know how well my friendships would have lasted without these things!  I have between 10-15 year old friendships that are still alive and kicking.  Is that because both people in the friendship are that stubborn (well, we all are 😉 ) or is it because we’ve been able to get in touch with one another so easily?  I’m inclined to say it’s a little bit of both, but regardless my computer helped.  There’s an old Facebook bumper sticker (remember those, they’re about 5 years out of date).  It said the following: I love my computer because my friends live in it.  Well, my friends and my family don’t live in my computer, but it certainly gives me easy access to all of them.  That being said, I’m so happy to live in the era of computers, because some of my friends can’t remember to respond to an e-mail…I’d question if they’d remember to respond to a letter! (I love you all! ❤ )  And that’s the thought I leave here: while it isn’t the same as face-to-face, computers let you say what’s meaningful, so at the very least, you’re assured people don’t forget in the short term.  Love you all!

Leave a Reply

