November 29, 2013: Running

I need to add something to my list of things to be thankful for that would not have been there two years ago. That is running. Something so simple that had become such a big part of my life. I love it for some of the same reasons you’ve all probably read before and yet, there’s some worth repeating and some aspects that a you may not hear frequently.

I love to run. Sometimes though I don’t, sometimes, even when I finish a great run I don’t love it. There are days I want to curl up and go back to sleep, but I don’t. There are mornings when I don’t break my wall at my usual 2 mile mark, where I never break it, but I keep going. Why? (I wonder this myself sometimes!)

The answer is because on the days it works, which are more frequent than not, running is the most wonderful feeling in the world for me. It makes me feel accomplished. It shows me the progress I can make, even on days I can’t make it in the practice room. There is a joy and a peace I find as my feet hit the ground repeatedly. There’s something therapeutic there, for me. A clarity I find and that provides me the ability to truly be *me*!

For me, like with everything, I take the good with the bad when I run and I find the good always outweighs the bad, whether I’m on a track or the sidewalk. I am thankful that I discovered running in 2012, because it’s provided me with aspects of myself and aspects of life I couldn’t have imagined earlier. (There’s a huge sense of accomplishment that I feel in saying I’ve run 13.1 miles in 2:33:45 hours.) I have time to think, I have a better sense of the world, and a better sense of myself all because I put one foot in front of the other and repeat, quickly.

Running isn’t for everyone and that’s okay! It shouldn’t be for everyone!!! It is for me and I am thankful for that!!

Leave a Reply

