November 9-10, 2013: The Flute Fair

Well, I don’t have much time to write until after Nov. 19th (I have a term paper coming due!), but I’ll give short updates when I can.  Tonight I will, but it will be short.  I went to the Flute Fair this weekend.  I had such an amazing time and feel like I learned a lot while I was there, which is kind of the entire point.  There were so many wonderful workshops, I couldn’t go to them all, the things I did go to included: exhibits ( 😛 ), a tribute concert to Michele Debost (which was incredibly impressive), a concert by Claire Chase (for which there are no words!!!), and today I went to a discussion on flute teaching lineage.  That’s poorly said, but basically it’s tracing your flute family tree and it was incredible.  My tree is basically a circle and I might share it up here sometime, but it’s definitely a fascinating study.  For now, though, I have to go to sleep so I can work more on this paper of mine.  It’s coming, but more slowly than I want it to.  But before I go, I’ll leave you with this link.  If you went to college with me and loved our saxophone professor there, you’ll adore this flutist!  Claire Chase: http://clairechase.net/home/

Again, I apologize this is so short and sloppy, but my mind is definitely focused on other things for the next week. 😦

Leave a Reply

