November 3, 2013: Productivity *MUST* commence!

Somewhere in the back of my head I can hear someone going: “This blog is called Musical Musing would you write about something musical?!?!?”  I shall happily oblige.  My day was pretty musical, making this easy, though it started out, non-musically, in the best way possible for me (you can all guess) a run!!! 😀  I’m easily made happy!  Four miles, nothing too insane, but lots of fun! 😀 Came home, went through the usual morning routine and off I went for three hours, finally a full three hours, of practice.  It-was-glorious!  I think I’m finally starting to get back into the swing of things practice wise.  Then I turned around and home I went.

Got home around 4:00 and it was homework time.  How is this musical, someone is asking?  Well, I am a music major…my homework is naturally musical.  I studied for my midterm Thursday, worked on my research paper, all sorts of good stuff.  I think I may have finally found a great way to make my homework behave, but I want to make sure it works before I let you all in on my secret.  It worked tonight, but will it continue to work, that’s the question!!

So, now, a story about my research paper.  I have yet to truly “complete” my research, but I have a good chunk of it done and I’m planning to do more after I get the first rough draft done, hopefully tomorrow.  I started the rough draft tonight though and here are the crazy things that happened with that draft.  1) I’m writing it by hand.  Why?  Because I’m crazy.  Actually…no.  If I write it by hand, the computer’s off, therefore there is no Facebook to distract me while I’m working.  The temptation is just far too great for me.  😛  2) I’m writing my rough draft like a blog post.  It’s so conversational it’s insane.  You take what you can get though and I’m making progress on the silly thing, so, if I run into a day when I have nothing to say here, you may get a typed up blog post about Bach Sonatas…just sayin’.  But things are finally starting to get goin’.  Tomorrow will be, thankfully, a continuation of today, because I don’t have rehearsal.

I love rehearsal, so-so-so much!  Truly!  It’s just, I could use the time to keep whatever magical concentration I have right now going.  There’re still lots of things I have to do tomorrow, but they’ll get done, bit by bit.  For now, it’s time for me to go to sleep so I can get up and be productive in the morning.  Only other thoughts I have are that, sometimes, the only way to focus is to totally eliminate all distractions.  That’s all I’ve got though.  Hey, tomorrow night, Castle’s eliminated himself (Thank you Bears and Pack!  I guess, in the end, it’s appreciated!)  Nobody tell me spoilers 😉

Leave a Reply

