October 31, 2013: HAPPY HALLOWEEN :D

Obvoiusly, I didn’t get around to writing last night.  Sorry about that.  I wound up at what turned out to be a dance party (don’t ask, it was supposed to be a workshop) from 6:00pm-10:00pm last night.  And hey, I like dancing as much as the next person, but um…typically, I like to do homework Wednesday nights, ya’ know…but that’s just me.  Oh well, wind ensemble members had fun randomly dancing with each other, though we were thinking about our assignments the entire time, so that sort of undermined the fun part, but we did it and now we have this afternoon and tonight to work on/make up our homework.

Today was kind of amazing though!  It was, and still is, Halloween.  So to all the readers I say “HAPPY HALLOWEEN! :D”  I maybe a first year graduate student, but I definitely still dressed up!  The entire orchestra flute section did! 😀  I was Arwen, one of my friends dressed up as Eowyn, another one of my friends dressed up as a Hogwarts student (Gryffindor), complete with wand.  It was pretty awesome!  We had rehearsal completely in costume and we played Lord of the Rings, Star Wars, Star Trek, and Disney music together before orchestra.  It was so much fun and I will admit, the majority of my practice today was playing Lord of the Rings music.  I don’t do it often, so I think I’m okay with that. 🙂

We also had several other characters show up to orchestra rehearsal including: Harry Potter, Audrey Hepburn, Sabrina the Teenage Witch, Darth Vader, Captain Malcolm Reynolds from Firefly (I think…), a horse, and a few others I can’t remember.  It was pretty fantastic.  And hey, I think it must be something unusual, playing Wagner in costume, certainly in that selection of costumes.  🙂  It occurred to me today that next year Halloween will be on a Friday, which could mean there might be a concert that night.  Fingers crossed that it’s a Halloween concert in costume.  I’ve gone to several of those in my life, played in a couple too and they are the most fun concerts you can imagine!

Now, I think I’ve over spent my time online and I have research calling my name, so off to Bach I go.  Happy Halloween.  May it still be spooky and wonderful! 😀

Leave a Reply

