August 24, 2013: Stronger than you think…

Today has been long, but it’s been wonderfully productive, so really, I’m a happy camper! I will say that I’m very tired, but that’s okay. I think I would be complaining about it more (I hit a bit of a grumpy patch during dinner, sorry Mom and Dad), but then as we’re in the car, heading home tonight, I started skimming one of the running books Mom bought on on Kindle.

The book has a whole section at the back of inspirational quotes for runners. For the girl (hi, me!) who’s pretty nervous for her 10 mile run tomorrow morning I thought they might be good to read. They were, on so many levels! I feel much more confident about my run in the morning, because it’s ten miles, how can it be bad?!?!?!? But also because the quotes made me feel more confident about everything. They were, mostly, from winners of major races, lending them some importance. I don’t know if I can pick one favorite, but I’ll try.

Okay! I picked 3, lol.
1) “More powerful than the will to win is the courage to begin.” – Author Unknown
2) “Challenged are what make life interesting; overcoming them is what makes life meaningful.” – Joshua J. Marine
3) “Most people never run far enough on their first wind to find out they’ve got a second. Give your dreams all you’ve got and you’ll be amazed at the energy that comes out of you.” – William James

These three jumped out and bit me! The importance of them in running, practicing, and life in general. It’s hard, sometimes, to remember what you’re made of and to stay positive. It takes a lot, often, to remember how strong you are and I know I am strong, as a person, a runner, and musician! As the one quote states it takes more guts to start, I’ve started and I will see everything through, including making my day work for me tomorrow and through the rest of the week and the next two years.

One thing I did remember this morning was, when there is a large, very over-whelming task, take it in small steps. Some days, like this morning, waking up is a huge challenge, so: step 1) get out of bed, step 2) get dressed, step 3) stretch etc. it seems silly and insignificant, but the next thing you know you’re out on the road running or practicing your double tonguing. It’s all a matter of perspective!

I encourage everyone, most especially myself, to stay positive, stay happy, stay focused, remember how strong you are, and if you’re over-whelmed change your perspective!

Happy running and practicing!

Leave a Reply

