August 12, 2013: And now for something completely different…

What a different day! It was so unlike what I’m used to now that it was kind of hard to process! I got up at 6:15 this morning and off went crazy old me on a six mile run! It went really well, so I guess crazy isn’t always bad. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Came back from my run and went through my usual morning stuff and headed off to my old high school. It was the first day of band camp and I get to help out, which is so much fun!

I got to school early so I could practice before I taught, since I have two lessons this coming week! I didn’t get through a lot in my hour and a half practice session, but what I got through was of definite quality! I worked my way through lots of tone exercises, some very time consuming, but so so worthwhile! I also started working on my double to tonguing again, something I have to even out before auditions!!!

After practice I got to lead sectionals for the marching flutes. I’m impressed with then and I think they’ll just keep being impressive as the week continues! I’m always fond of seeing the level of professionalism with the students at my high school! They conduct themselves very well, but they’re so funny and I love working with them!

After rehearsal I got to catch up with one of my friends from high school which was great, not just because I don’t see him much, but he’s also lots of fun to talk to. After that I headed home and mom and I headed out for lunch and off to run some miscellaneous errands. Among them were using a coupon I’ve been hanging onto for a year (yup, a year) and a stop at a bookstore while a storm passed through! The bookstore stop was great because I got some serious study time, though using the coupon was pretty fun too :).

Once all our errands were complete we came home and mom and dad went for a walk and I took advantage of the fact that the person who normally cooks (read: mom) was our and I got to make dinner again! Tonight was nothing fancy, just tuna salad, but still, I got to cook. ๐Ÿ™‚ Now, it’s off to sleep for me and tomorrow will be much of the same: biking, practice, marching band, studying, and more practice! Sounds like a good day to me! ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll let you know what excitement occurs then.

Half marathon training update:
Speed work, 6 miles: approx. 10 min/mile ( pretty good considering I ran 9 miles just yesterday!

Leave a Reply

