August 5, 2013 ARIA 2013 Session IV: Day 6

These days are getting confusing!  Has anyone else noticed the date and the ARIA day are one off…it’s driving me slightly nuts!  Anyway, today was a good day, minus the only not good part which, unusually, took place during my run.  So I ran six miles this morning, which was fantastic (and a lot of fun), but less than a quarter of a way into my sixth mile I fell!  It was one of those slow motion falls where you have enough time to process what’s happening and adjust, so you fall in the least harmful way possible.  This means I have gravel burn on my right knee (which looks like raw meat), my forearm, and my shoulder, and a rather bruised and slightly swollen right hip, but nothing too serious.  While these things hurt they aren’t life threatening or exercise/running prohibitive!  First thing I did when I stood up was make sure none of my joints or muscles hurt!  Thank goodness!  Nothing is broken, sprained, pulled, or twisted!!!  Either way tomorrow is cross training, so it’s a fairly relaxed day, which will give my body time to recover from it’s, er…owies!  Oddly, the most painful of the scrapes is on my shoulder, but the details are boring!

This morning’s master class was with Judy (Professor Mendenhall told us to call her Judy today!)  We covered orchestral excerpts again and it was very interesting, actually.  I mean, I think we’re getting to the point where certain things are getting a bit redundant, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing, it means all the teachers on the same page.  Besides, even though some things are redundant, there are many things that we talk about with individual players that are new every day.  Today, one of the most memorable was a strategy we covered about the opening run in Beethoven’s Leonore excerpt.  Primarily, it was the concept of working that run backwards, which while I’ve used that strategy with other excerpts, it never occurred to me to use it for Leonore!  We also talked about the big 5 excerpts you will typically be asked in an audition.  We narrowed it down to these 5:

1) Brahms Symphony #4

2) Beethoven Leonore Overture the Allegro

3) Debussy’s Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun

4) Mendelssohn’s “Scherzo” from A Midsummer Night‘s Dream

5) Ravel’s Daphnis and Chloe

Judy suggested that when we have the opportunity to pick what excerpts we play we pick from those 5 and we stay away from the “Scherzo”.  I, personally, feel the “Scherzo” is my strongest excerpt, but maybe I’m wrong… I will have to reconsider once I’m away from Aria.

This afternoon was Professor John Thorne’s first master class with us.  We spent an hour and a half talking about…everything!  Much like Dr. Keeble’s last class with us, Professor Thorne’s first class covered every topic you could possibly think of and in an hour and a half I took 2.5 pages of notes in my miniscule hand writing.  Professor Thorne is an amazing fountain of information and I cannot wait to have my lesson with him tomorrow afternoon!  We truly discussed everything from what to play in auditions to how to approach auditions, to how to build a private studio, to how long to practice (quality over quantity), to how to recover from a practicing slump!  I mean there’s just so much!  I’ll have to type these up for myself because, while they’re perfectly legible, there’s going to be so much to recall I’d just like to have them typed up!  Beyond that, not much happened today, though I did finally get to print out my excerpts for seating auditions for grad. school!

Tomorrow, like I said, I have my lesson with Professor Thorne in the afternoon and I’m playing in the morning master class, so I’ll let you know how that goes.

Half-marathon training update: 6 miles speed work: approx. 10 min/mile! 🙂

Leave a Reply

