July 18, 2013 ARIA Session III: Day 9

Well folks, I’m posting a little earlier tonight so I can go ahead and get started on packing.  Yup, that’s right, packing!  I have one more day and two more nights and then home, to the happy land of coolerness, of course, getting to that happy land depends on what the weather decides it’s going to do.  I’m praying it won’t rain.  I already have to be in the airport from 11:30-4:30 on Saturday and I really don’t want to extend my stay any longer than necessary!

Anyway, today was Professor Boyd’s last day.  It was kind of sad, but I think she was as ready to go as we are.  This morning’s masterclass was kind of unhelpful for everyone, which was pretty disappointing.  In other news, my friend and I played our duet for Damian (during her lesson) and got some good feedback, which made us happy.

After that we had our afternoon masterclass with Professor Boyd.  This one involved no playing, just talking, but the talking was very helpful!  We learned so much from our discussions and I took the most notes I’ve taken all session!  We covered topics from time management, to performance anxiety, to why Professor Boyd decided to make music here career.  For two hours we discussed and it was a really fascinating class!

In other news: it’s hot!  This morning I decided I would try to go for a walk outside, because I figured it would be cooler than trying to work out in my room!  MISTAKE!  I wound up with 12+ mosquito bites in 20 minutes.  I won’t be doing that again!  But I will be running tomorrow morning, early, before it gets too hot.  It will be my last run.  My “farewell” (temporarily) run if you will! 😉

I think that pretty much covers today.  I’m going to do a few more things and then say goodnight to my computer because it’s truly just “Too Darn Hot”! 

Leave a Reply

